The Challenge

4 Feb

I want to start blogging again but I can’t remember where  my previous blog(s) were at, so I’m starting fresh- yes it’s been that long! Writing is good therapy, and nothing makes me feel better than the Ocean, so this could be very therapeutic!

Image

The photo I posted in the previous post was taken the day after the big job loss. The night before, Mike had that day off work, & let me plan the day.  Of course I wanted to go where the waves are big & the traffic is quiet, and not wanting to drive for hours on end, we settled for the hour drive west to Jordan River.

Once we got there, we rock-hopped the 100 meters packed with rocks the size of our heads, watched the waves crash. I could have stood there all day except the tide was chasing us back to shore & Mike said it was time to go, he had something to show me.

This was possibly his most favorite part of the island, me being scared of everything, I quizzed him about the beach – is it a long hike? is it hard to walk? Is it High? Can I wear Flip-Flops? (his answers were No, Yes, Very, and NO!!!!).

He used the word “Treacherous” to describe the beach access, and I’m missing our regular drive-up beach already (Don’t get me wrong, I love hiking & pushing my limits, but I’m still a chicken-shit about everything – especially heights!)

We approach the beach and I see what could possibly be my worst night-mare – ropes, wrapped around a huge tree. Yup, there’s no way down but to grab a rope and lower yourself down the steep, steep, steep incline.

Mike went down first and then I refused. “I’ll be waiting in the car” I replied, and turned to leave… he wouldn’t have that & promised the view would be worth it (with the look of “Stop wasting our time and get down here… you know you’re going to anyways”.

So I take 2 steps to grab the rope, and trip on a root, luckily not falling to my death, but creating a “root-burn” 1′ long down the side of my calf. Without further complications I maneuvered down the cliff-side, using the random tree roots to climb down.

Once everyone was safe on land again Mike wasted no time in attempting to show me all the cute nifty things about this amazing beach, but I was still amazed in the fear I just combated, once again! (and of course secretly wondering if the climb up could possibly be that easy as well). I’m sure this thought kept me from enjoying the beach to the fullest, but I was pleasantly surprised to see how easy climbing the drop was with the minor assistance of the tree’s roots & the sturdy rope.

I know this post is all about the journey & the challenge, but I feel the beach itself deserves SOME recognition.

Off to our far distant left were crashing white-caps hitting a mass of rocks, and to the right the same thing. The beach had super ultra fine sand, and the waves were coming in at a great rate. up higher on the beach was a HUGE tree laying on it’s side (I couldn’t see over it – it was probably a foot off the ground). There was a feeling of complete serenity, besides a broken child’s swing, there wasn’t a single piece of evidence that man had ever been. I hit the rocks and climbed on top of the incoming tide, from mini-cove to cove, Mike following behind taking photo’s (all photo’s are courtesy of him).

We headed back to the main beach, and enjoyed staring contests with a local otter, and after he scampered off, we decided we should go before the tide took us out with it.

Back in the car Mike asked if the view was worth it, of course I said yes, but in my head I didn’t even CARE about the beach, it was the journey that mattered :).

~Ash

PS: Thanks everyone for your kind words & encouragement this week. It’s appreciated!

 

 

Leave a Reply

