Make The Bed!

7 Jan

In my last post I mentioned that my next posts would be about my tools helping me on this journey – as I call them, my Entourage. So I thought I would break them up into 1 tool per post, to let me dig into them a bit more. By sharing this, I not only hope to help someone else on the same journey, but I’m reflecting on my journey, what I’m doing that’s working, and what needs to change, making me stronger.

Make the Bed. Seriously. OK so it’s not one of my tools, but it is part of it. My first super important tool is Routine. Whereever possible I have inserted routine into my life. It gives me a sense of security, and organization, and I’ve come to look forward to going back to that routine when things get crazy, and that brings me back on track.

– My most important routine is my morning routine. This includes waking up, turning on my husband & my computers, putting my contacts in, going to the bathroom, and weighing in. This happens immediately ever morning.

Every day, at some point between waking and noon, I make our bed. I never made my bed before I started on this journey (never EVER unless changing the sheets). Some days I look at the bed, and say meh, but then I remember the how nice it feels to crawl into a fresh-made bed at the end of the day. Plus mid-morning if I’m looking for trouble, it keeps me entertained. 

Other parts of my morning routine that slip occasionally that I’m working on, are stretching in the morning (I have a knee injury so it is kind of important), and I also try to do a lumosity workout, which seems like fun and games but I find it gets my mind going.  

Of course then downstairs there is breakfast, unloading the dishwasher and having a morning tea. 

By far these are my most important routines. 

My other routines include meals that I eat regularly, drinking fluids, going for walks in familiar areas, Keeping certain foods in my house (and others out). Seeing and doing those same things every day keeps me in check. 

I’m also working on doing the flylady routine, which I need to re-create to work for my life, as I often work weekends and have 2 week days off so it doesn’t make sense with her weekends off & cleaning all week. 

Next Post: Organization (or lack thereof)… Happy Tuesday

2 Responses to “Make The Bed!”

  1. oohtequila January 8, 2014 at 10:19 pm #

    i feel the same regarding a routine! it definitely helps. you got this ❤

    • ashleyltd January 8, 2014 at 11:07 pm #

      Thanks Heather! Routines totally keep me going!

Leave a Reply

