Apps for Success!

14 Jan

OK so now I want to start talking about some of the Apps I use on a daily basis… Some of my apps I use for 1 thing, and 1 thing only, so I’m hoping by going into detail I will find other things I haven’t utilized! I’m going to try something new and start implementing some images in my posts, wish me luck!

First App Up: My Diet Coach (I have no affiliation with this app, nor do I benefit if others use it, just for the record!:))

My Diet Coach Logo

This App is in Google Play Store. I’ve done fine with the free version!

I started using this app almost instantly when I got serious about changing my life around.

The idea of this app is to provide motivation in a moment of weakness, in various situations. There’s lots of inspirational quotes and tips that HAVE helped me, and that I read through on a daily basis.

The ability to customize your own tips, and goals makes this app even better.

One should note, that the app itself even warns if you get too crazy that it’s reminders can get annoying (you can totally control how many reminders you get!)

For me, this app is more of a background app, I don’t interact with it that much, although I do need to do more, and I need to sit down with it and update my goals as they change!

So, let’s start digging into the aspects I use on this app regularly!

Image

This is the view on the main screen when you open the program.

See I have a custom goal? “I will lose 30 lbs in 3 months…” You get to choose your loss goal, time line and reasoning.

I love using the reminders button (which I will show you in a minute).

You can upload pictures from your gallery as inspiration, or take pictures to put in there! Every once in a while you get a reminder to look at your motivational pictures! I do this sometimes, although I should do an updated one!

Tips is great, although again I don’t use them much. Click on that button, and a whole other menu pops up. (see below right picture! ). Once you click on a specific category, an image and inspirational quote pops up (see below left picture). You can just swipe an flip through the entire category – super easy!

Screenshot_2014-01-14-11-39-47ImageSorry about the bad organization of photo’s! – this is tricky!

Anyways, the point of this feature is that when something happens that puts you at risk with your progress, you can find the issue, and get some good advise!

You can also add them to your reminders list, which I love, and I’m going to cover next! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Screenshot_2014-01-14-12-06-44OK so, every hour or so I get reminders on my phone – they are set to make a pretty sound, so I know it is from MDC, and not a text or phone call. When I look at the top of my screen, as you can see on the above pictures, the little pink dress is a notification from MDC! When I look at my Notification bar, it looks like this that.

I don’t know if you can read it because of the black screen, but here is a quick example of the notifications I have it set up to say:

7:45 – Measure My Weight

9:20 – Going to Alberta in June!

10:00 My Goal (shows the goal text I showed you earlier)

10:15 Drink Water

12:00 Shared Quote: “To be as fit as a fiddle first tone down the middle”…Screenshot_2014-01-14-11-38-16

These are posted as notifications because I’ve set them in reminders to do that – I set them so they do this every day, and as the day goes by I have more and more quotes that are notified to me.

NO I don’t read every single one of them, but at least once a day I read the ones that have piled up in my notifications. Funny enough, I know the times when my favorite quotes are posted, and I always read those ones from start to finish! You can also schedule random ones to be posted, which is what I do as well!

Sometimes It’s just seeing that Dress on the Notification Screen that helps you, or just hearing the tweet of the sound that keeps you on track!

The picture on the right is the Reminders Page, if you had clicked on that on the home page.  You can see I’ve scheduled them to certain times, and the pencil lets you edit that. Coincidentally the top 4 quotes on that screen shot are my FAVORITES!

The features that I don’t use are the Challenges. which you can see at the bottom of the page. While I have set the challenges, I use other tools to monitor the challenges etc. I believe you can track water, etc. through here. I wouldn’t recommend tracking food or exercise on MDC as there is many other good tools to do that!

So, what do you think about My Diet Coach? Will you be downloading it? Have you downloaded it already? What are your favorite Weight-Loss/Fitness quotes?

 

2 Responses to “Apps for Success!”

  1. Mom January 15, 2014 at 5:49 pm #

    Downloading My Diet Coach right now. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Map My Walk! | ashleyltd - January 26, 2014

    […] other thing I like about MMW, that my previous post (My Diet Coach) doesn’t have, is a website you can log into from your computer. You can see […]

Leave a Reply

